‘Married To The Mob’ 1988 Review – AMC Mob Week – Movie Monday

amcmobweek1

Story: While recording this for when I was at school. My mother watched 5 minutes of this and told me it looked like it was going to be good. But when I saw “The Godfather… on laughing gas” I knew… I KNEW it was going to be crap. I mean come on. Plus, it’s Michelle Pieffer, I’ve never seen a really good film with her in it except Scarface. And she was only decent in that. Her version of Catwoman was lame in Batman Returns and I’ve never made an effort to see anything else with her in it. Well, the story to this sounds good for a night out with the girls, but I don’t think a group of girls would like this anyway. Alec Baldwin literally has 5 minutes of screentime and he was one of the thing I thought wasn’t going to suck about this. I was wrong. And the mob and the cops trying to go after her? They’re all randomly obsessed with her. That wasn’t realistic. Stupid jokes here and there that weren’t funny at all. Lame.

Visuals: A bland look with not so appealing locations. Clothes were lame. The opening credits were absurdly long and unnecessary.

Music: I didn’t here much music in this. But it was alright when I heard it. Nothing special.

Characters: I almost couldn’t stand Michelle Pieffer’s character. She was desperate, didn’t give a crap about her husband’s death and was just annoying. She was a lot like her character in Batman Returns. After just seeing Matthew Modine in The Dark Knight Rises, I thought he was going to be cool. Since after all, this is a mob movie. But no, he was one of those annoying stupid joke guys you want to punch in the face. And all those mob guys… the way I see mobsters is like guys in The Godfather. So I compare all mob characters to the way characters in The Godfather act since they seem to have the most accurate interpretations. Well, let me tell you, Married To The Mob mobsters suck. As a side note, Alex Baldwin had nice hair though.

Rewatch Value: I won’t ever be making an effort to see this again.

Leave a comment