Movie Monday: “Takers” Review 2010

This was with the old template and this actual post was made quite a while ago.

IMDb:

Story: So back in 2010 I had seen the commercials on TV and I was like “Oh shoot, a heist film with a bunch of well-dressed guys, this looks good”. So I looked up the trailer online and I was even more pumped. But to be honest, the movie was what I expected. There really wasn’t anything like “HOLY CRAP OH MY GOD” in the story, but it had it’s moments here and there. Not to spoil the ending for you, but now they can’t even make a freaking sequel. If anything, maybe a prequel would be nice, but it could be pretty predictable.

Music: The music seemed to fit well. The big gun fight scene towards the end with the saddening violin music was somewhat unexpected but did set the mood a bit. It is was also in slow motion which made it more impactful. It was an unusual choice for music, but it worked. The film also some some nice songs from Kram, and Ambulance Ltd which I still listen to, to this day.

Characters: Oh my gosh I absolutely loved all of the characters in this movie except Paulie, and the Russians. I really wasn’t feeling Matt Dillon and Jay Hernandez as cops or anything threatening but hey, every movie has a crappy character. The actors were pretty great and I loved the actors they chose for the movie except the cops. In the movie, we don’t really know much about the characters except who looks like they’re leader of the group (Idris Elba and Paul Walker), and who does the technical and planning (Hayden Christensen), and who’s the rookie (Chris Brown), etc. The problem is, you can’t explore the characters within a two hour movie based SOLELY on a heist in 5 DAYS. Maybe we could get more on the characters in a prequel?

Entertainment: The movie had it’s moments. Nothing two awesome, nothing too low. Overall, I was generally entertained.

Rewatch Value: Moderate. This is actually my second time of watching the movie. I’ll probably watch it again some time in a while.

Leave a comment